Schools: 2009/2010 Open Houses

The 2009/2010 open houses for local schools are here! So, if your child will be attending Kindergarten beginning in 2010, and if you have not already made the big decision and want to check out schools, below are the dates you need to make note of on your calendars.

And this is the best time, also, to get a head start if your child is going to be entering Kindergarten in the fall of 2011. These open houses are one of the best ways to get to know a school and to get a feel for if a particular one is the right fit for your child. You will have the opportunity to tour the campuses and classrooms, speak with teachers, administrators, current parents and students, and even alumni. You will be able to ask your burning questions and discuss any concerns you have in a open format.

Reading statistics on websites and talking to friends is a good jumping-off point, but nothing compares to a personal visit to the schools you are considering. You will be surprised at how your opinion of a school may change after attending such an event.

Make sure to RSVP if you plan to attend an open house. There is sometimes limited space, so let the schools know early that you intend to come. You can find out who to contact by clicking on a school’s link below.

Most of our local public and charter schools are not listed yet because the information was not available at this point. Please let us know if you hear of any unlisted open houses! Many do not have any dates on their websites yet.


Public Schools:

Kindergarten Tea on Tuesday, September 29, 7:30-9:00 p.m.
(for more info and to RSVP, call 215.242.2380 or email HGoldman@DrexelMed.edu)

Charter Schools:

Independence Charter School:
(Tours) Thursday, October 1st/Monday, October 5th/Thursday, October 15th/ Tuesday, October 20th/ Thursday, October 22nd/ Wednesday, October 28th/ Monday, November 2nd/ Thursday, November 5th/ Monday, November 9th/ Wednesday, January 20th/ Thursday, February 18th/ Monday, March 22nd/ Tuesday, April 20th/ Wednesday, May 19th. Tours will be given at 9:30a.m. and 5:30p.m. on each date.
* Applications will become available online in Sept. and are due in Nov. (date to be listed on application) Lottery is in Dec.

TBA (You can only get an application at the information session, which was held in Jan. last year and then they were due to be returned in late Feb.)

Friday, October 9, 10:00-11:00 a.m.
Thursday, November 12, 6:30-9:00 p.m.
*Kindergarten applications due by Nov. 30 and lottery on Dec. 7. Grade 1-8 applications due March 31 and lottery on April 5.

Private Schools:
Saturday, October 17, 10:00 a.m.
Saturday, January 23, 12:30 p.m.
Tuesday, November 17, 8:45 a.m.
Friday, December 11, 8:45 a.m. (Middle and Upper Schools only)
Tuesday, March 16, 8:45 a.m.
Tuesday, April 20, 8:45 a.m.

Chestnut Hill Academy and Springside School (combined):
Thursday, October 22, 7:00 p.m., All Grades
Sunday, November 8, 2:00 p.m. (Bring the whole family! Childcare provided), All Grades Thursday, April 29, 7:00 p.m., All Grades
For applicants to Pre-K and K:
Saturday, November 21, Saturday, December 12, 2009 Saturday, January 9, 2010

Saturday, October 17, 11:00 a.m.
Wednesday, December 2, 9:00 a.m.
Wednesday, January 13, 9:00 a.m.
Thursday, February 11, 9:00 a.m.
Wednesday, April 14, 9:00 a.m.

Lower School Visitors’ Morning: Wednesday, October 21, 9:00 – 11:30 a.m.
Middle/Upper School Visitors’ Morning: Tuesday, October 27, 8:45 – 11:00 a.m.
Lower School Visitors’ Morning: Thursday, November 12, 9:00 – 11:30 a.m.

Saturday, October 3, 1 p.m.
Wednesday, November 11, 8:15 a.m.
Friday, May 14, 8:15 a.m.

Thursday, October 1, 8:45 to 10:30 am
Saturday, October 17, 1:00 to 3:00 pm
Thursday, November 12, 8:45 to 10:30 am
Thursday, December 3, 8:45 to 10:30 am
Thursday, February 4, 8:45 to 10:30 am
Thursday, April 15, 8:45 to 10:30 am
Monday, May 3, 7:00 to 8:30 pm

The Miquon School:
Thursday October 22, 2009 Information Evening for Prospective Parents, 7:00-9:00pm
Thursday October 19, 2009 Open House, 9:00-11:00
Saturday December 5th, 2009am Family Open House, 9:30-11:30am
*Miquon’s annual yard sale will be held on Sat. Oct. 3, from 8:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. (another good way to get a peak at the school and meet some of the community)

Norwood Fontbonne Academy:
Mon. Sept. 28 and Tues. Sept. 29th Fontbonne Commons 9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

Plymouth Meeting Friends School:
Wed October 7, 2009, 9:30am – 11:30am
Sat November 7, 2009, 2pm – 4pm
Wed January 13, 2010, 9:30am-11:30am
Wed April 21, 2010, 9:30am – 11:30am


Sunday, October 11, 10:00 a.m.-Noon
Tuesday, October 20, 8:30-10:00 a.m.
Sunday, November 8, 10:00 a.m.-Noon
Tuesday, November 17, 8:30-10:00 a.m.
Sunday, December 6, 10:00-Noon

Sunday, October 25, 10:00 a.m.-Noon

William Penn Charter School:
Saturday, October 17, 2009 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday, November 10, 2009 8:30 a.m.
Tuesday, April 27, 2010 8:30 a.m. (pre-K to grade 5 only)

3 thoughts on “Schools: 2009/2010 Open Houses

  • Kathleen

    Here's one to add:

    The school district of Philadelphia
    voluntary transfer program for September 2010 Admission to Elementary or Middle Schools

    Applications for transfer will be accepted from September 21, 2009 until October 30, 2009.

    Informational flyer: http://www.phila.k12.pa.us/students/elem_ms_flyer09.pdf

    Application:
    http://www.phila.k12.pa.us/students/elem_middle_application09.pdf

    Kathleen K.

    Reply
  • Aisha

    Hey there,
    The Project Learn School Open House Dates seem to be last year's. The last Open House for next school year is Thursday, February 18th at 6:30 pm. People who want to RSVP or can't make the Open House should call to schedule a tour at 215-438-3623.

    Reply
  • Pamela

    Norwood-Fontbonne Academy
    Sprng Open House will be held:
    Monday and Tuesday Apr. 12th and 13th from 9:00 a.m – Noon.
    All are welcome.
    Come and see the value of a
    Norwood-Fontbonne Academy Education.

    Reply

Leave a Reply